Final Projects & Dissertations: Key research sources
Information Sources
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowScopus is an abstract-focused database (though we often have full-text access via one of our other databases). It is useful to check in addition to subject-focused databases, as it provides a cross-disciplinary overview of content from well-regarded journals.
It is primarily used to look at the impact of articles, including how the article has been used by other researchers and the perceived value of the journal the article was published in.
- SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods supports your research, every step of the way.
It provides with reliable, authored content to inform your methodology section. There is also guidance on subject-specific approaches to searching, data analysis and interpretation of findings.
Think of SAGE Research Methods as an online, easily-searchable version of the study skills section in your campus library. Indeed, many of the books it contains will also be on our shelves as print copies.
- Subject DatabasesIn order to use more accurate filters than are available on aggregator systems (e.g. Locate, Google Scholar), we recommend performing the majority of searches for research projects using subject-focused databases. The lists provided on these pages represent a good (but not exclusive) list of the resources available to you as a CU campus student.
Support with Research
- LibKey NomadLibKey Nomad is a browser plug-in which allows quick and easy access to journal articles and other research outputs you might find online.
If you are doing research outside of Library databases and find a paywalled article, a green Nomad box will appear in the corner of your screen to help you access a full version of the article (if we have access). - Reference Management softwareWhen conducting longer, larger-scale research projects, it can be beneficial to use reference management software to record and organise sources found, as well as generating a reference list in your required style.
There are many reference management options available, including online platforms, software/apps, and services which mix both approaches. Access to RefWorks is supplied and supported by Coventry University, but you may wish to use free alternatives such as Zotero.
Speak to Library staff if you would like more support with reference management software. You will also find some video guides in the 'referencing' tab of this page.