Food and Nutrition: Subject databases

EBSCO databases

Databases on the EBSCO platform can be searched simultaneously, helping you to save time with your research. Choose any of the following links to access the EBSCO platform and above the keyword search boxes select 'Choose databases' and select the databases you would like to search.

I recommend always searching in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Medline. You can choose any other relevant ones from the list below depending on your specific topic.

PubMed

PubMed has some duplicate open access content from Medline, however it also has access to some content not available in Medline so is worth searching as well. Unlike Medline, PubMed is freely accessible to anybody and you do not need to use your Coventry ID to login to use this database.

Proquest Databases

The following databases can also be searched together, choose any of the following links and above the search bar select 'Change Databases' and select the ones you would like to search. The databases highlighted below may prove particularly useful.

ScienceDirect & Scopus

ScienceDirect provides full-text searching and access to thousands of journal articles and books. Be aware that search functionality in ScienceDirect is more limited than some databases and you can only search up to 8 keyword terms at once. Alternatively, you can do an advanced search in Locate to use more search terms and refine your results to the Scopus (Elsevier) collection to retrieve results from ScienceDirect. You can also search the Scopus database directly.

Scopus indexes articles from thousands of journals in the sciences and social sciences. It has excellent coverage of literature in life and biomedical sciences. It also includes conference proceedings, an increasing number of book series and patent records. Scopus provides useful search tools and citation searching tools.

All Food & Nutrition Databases (A-Z)