Research Techniques: Finding Images

This tutorial will help you find online audio resources that are free for you to use to support your learning, teaching or research.

This tutorial will help you find online image resources that are free for you to use to support your learning, teaching or research.

This tutorial will help you find online video resources that are free for you to use to support your learning, teaching or research.

The Virtual Training Suite is a set of free Internet tutorials to help students develop Internet research skills for their university course. All the tutorials written and reviewed by a national team of lecturers and librarians from universities across the UK. These interactive, teach-yourself tutorials take around an hour to complete. Simply work through the material in your own time at your own pace.

Various useful resources and guides related to file formats in different media

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera. The material selected for conservation, cataloguing and digitisation comprises a wide array of different types of printed document, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material. Together they offer unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Search hints: For off-campus access to this resource click on 'login via your home organisation', select 'United Kingdom' and 'Coventry University' then login with your Coventry University username & password.

The Noun Project is a website that aggregates and catalogs symbols that are created and uploaded by graphic designers around the world. The Noun Project community is building a visual language that anyone can use and understand.

Over 410,000 high quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.

Free images you can use in your work; no attribution needed.

Free images for you to use in your work; generally no attribution needed.

VADS service provides a searchable database of 100,000 images covering many areas of late 20th century design. These include, the Design Council Slide Collection and images from the London College of Fashion and Central Saint Martins. All images are freely available and copyright cleared for teaching, learning and research in the UK.

Rent latest releases, view classics and archival footage from the British Film Institute.

On demand TV amd Radio for Education.

British Council Film links UK films and filmmakers to international audiences, profiling innovation, diversity and excellence and seeking opportunities for creative exchange between UK and international film communities.

British Pathe, the world's leading multimedia resource with a history stretching back over a century. The finest and most comprehensive archive of fabulous footage and stunning stills.

CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication

Henry Stewart Talks – Business & Management Collection provides access to hundreds of online, audio-visual lectures, presentations and case studies delivered by leading experts from academia and industry. HST covers six main subject areas, including Global Business Management; Finance, Accounting & Economics; and Marketing & Sales. Login: Once selected, follow the instructions to 'Login via organization' to access full content.

For the first time view complete Public Information films on the National Archives website, featuring a selection some of the most memorable and influential Central Office of Information films from the last 60 years to celebrate the 60th Aniversary of the COI.

Images of the British Empire: Archive footage showing life in the colonies of the British Empire. Over 150 films available to view online.

British Library Sounds allows you to listen to a selection from the Library’s collections of unique sound and moving image recordings. They come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Europe's sound heritage.

Henry Stewart Talks – Business & Management Collection provides access to hundreds of online, audio-visual lectures, presentations and case studies delivered by leading experts from academia and industry. HST covers six main subject areas, including Global Business Management; Finance, Accounting & Economics; and Marketing & Sales. Login: Once selected, follow the instructions to 'Login via organization' to access full content.