- Coventry University
- LibGuides
- Lanchester Library
- Project Management
- Economic & financial data
Project Management: Economic & financial data
Economic & Financial Data
Background
Economic and financial data can take different forms and the information available will depend on the area and who has compiled the data. Some economic and financial data is freely available on the internet whilst other data is only available from companies/organisations who charge a fee.
FAME
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) is a database of UK and Irish public and limited companies providing company financials on a 20-year rolling basis.
You can search for an individual company or create a peer report based on sector, location, or specific financial data such as turnover.
FAME guide: PDF
Financial Times
The Financial Times is an excellent source of business news, and it is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Its stories cover companies, industries, and current events. You can also find market data, including an archive going back up to ten years.
The first time you login, setup an individual account with the FT using your Coventry University email. This allows you to also access the FT app.
FT Guide: PDF
The Economist
The Economist is a weekly published magazine covering global news and analysis covering economics, business, and geopolitics. Our subscription is via ProQuest, not The Economist’s own website, so make sure you use the link on this page or from Locate.
Other Databases
There are a wide variety of databases and websites which contain economic and financial data, and you may wish to search within them as well.
World Indices, Economic and Financial Indicators
-
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new windowContains economic indicators such as GDP, foreign trade and exchange rates.
-
International Monetary Fund (IMF)Data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators such as GDP growth, inflation, unemployment, payments balances, exports, imports, external debt, capital flows and commodity prices.
-
World BankMacro, financial and sector data. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
-
The Bank for International Settlements (BIS)Includes economic, financial stability, international monetary and global liquidity indicators.
-
Historical Data UKJointly compiled by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics this is a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications. Its main focus is macroeconomic and financial market data.
-
Investors' ChronicleIncludes data from the FTSE and its associated companies as well as currency, commodities, funds and bonds data.
(You can access the full text of articles from the Investors' Chronicle via Locate.) -
Google FinanceWorld and local stock market(s), currency and crypto data.
-
Yahoo! FinanceWorld and local stock market(s), currency and crypto data, some arranged by sector, and news stories.
-
Investing.comWorld and local stock market(s), currency, commodities and crypto data.
Banking
-
Moody's Analytics BankFocus This link opens in a new window
-
The Bank for International Settlements (BIS)Provides both Locational Banking Statistics (LBS) and Consolidated Banking Statistics (CBS).
If your research crosses over into another subject area, you may wish to look at the Subject Guide for the other topic. For example, if you are interested in Government or population data, you could use the Statistics: Government and Official Data guide.
Coventry University
Frederick Lanchester Building
Gosford Street
Coventry, United Kingdom
CV1 5DD
Telephone:+44 (0) 24 7765 7575
Email: ask-a-librarian.lib@coventry.ac.uk
