Coventry University Archives: Coventry University Archives Collections Policy

Details of our current collections are available on our ‘discover the archive collections’ page. Material relating to the university's predecessors and Frederick Lanchester held elsewhere is also mentioned on this page.

We will consider accepting archive material that falls into the following categories:

• Material relating to the history of the university and its predecessors that - 
  • Actively supports teaching and research activities at the university
  • Gives insights into academic achievements and the experiences of students and staff
  • Details the universities buildings and facilities.

We are particularly keen to enhance our institutional archive holdings and would welcome approaches from anyone with such material (whatever the format e.g. paper, photograph, object, audio visual, digital). This can include items created by staff; students; alumni; faculties; schools & research centres; services; external groups or individuals.

• Primary sources relating to Frederick Lanchester and the Lanchester family. Secondary sources or related items may be accepted if thought appropriate for open access reference material.

We can also advise on current or semi-current material that may be of future historical and archival interest.
 

We reserve the right to refuse any offer of material.

If we are offered material we will also take the following into consideration:
 

• The space required to house material
• Whether we can provide suitable storage and care
• Condition of the items
• Any restriction of use or exploitation of the materials
• Please note we will only take donations of material. We do not usually accept loans.

Coventry University will liaise with other organisations (local and national) if required, to ensure that archives are in the most appropriate place of deposit, and to avoid duplication of material and resources.

The policies of other organisations collecting in the same or related areas will be taken into account. These institutions will be consulted to define areas of specialism, where conflicts of interest may arise.

The advice of The National Archives and other bodies may be obtained where appropriate.

The format of material offered will also be considered e.g. paper, photograph, object, audio, visual,  digital.

Coventry University will not normally collect:

• Copies of original material (except where it may be used as a reference or secondary source)
• Loaned material
• Personal libraries
• Material from former members of staff or alumni that does not support the teaching and research activities of the university
• Material which is of a particularly specialist nature, requiring skills or equipment beyond the university’s resources to preserve, use or interpret.
   

Records from internal sources within the university are already the property of the university (and are usually treated as transfers). Records received from other sources are normally only accepted as donations. The university does not normally purchase records or accept them on loan.

The university will carry out due diligence and make efforts not to acquire any item unless it can be satisfactorily agreed that it can acquire a valid title to the item in question, and to follow archival or other relevant legislation and guidelines.

Coventry University aims to keep and care for permanent collections relating to its stated objectives. But donated material that does not relate to its objectives, or after appraisal is not thought worthy of permanent preservation, will be disposed of securely or offered to another archive. This also applies to duplicate copies of material already held.

This policy is made clear during the donation process.

Coventry University also reserves the right to retrospectively review its holdings if its collections policy is updated.