This take down policy covers Intellectual Property Rights (IPR), Data Protection Rights (DP), Human Rights and other relevant rights. It applies to digitized material (such as images and catalogues) on the Coventry University website relating to archives held by the university.
The policy also covers descriptions and images relating to Coventry University archive collections displayed on other websites e.g. the Archives Hub; The National Archives’ ‘Discovery’ catalogue; Archives Portal Europe.
Coventry University is committed to making its archives freely available to users, either at the university library or online. This includes material such as the Lanchester collection, one of the UK’s most important resources for the work and life of engineer, car manufacturer and inventor Frederick Lanchester.
Before making material available online, the university attempts to contact intellectual property rights-holders for permission to make the items available. Despite this due diligence and risk assessment, we cannot guarantee to have traced and contacted every potential rights holder. It can be very difficult to identify the rights holder(s) of archive material, which can include unpublished documents or orphan works. We make all reasonable efforts to ensure that rights holders’ interests are respected.
Terms and conditions on the use of digital content on our website (via a non-commercial creative commons license) are also made clear to users at point of access.
We aim to identify sensitive and/or personal data in our archives that may be covered by data protection and human rights legislation. Where this is the case the items will not be displayed online, or we will redact or anonymize information. We have sampled our archive material to check if there are instances of sensitive or personal items that will require action.
If the information is likely to fall under Data Protection or other relevant legislation we operate an assumed lifespan of 100 years for releasing personal information, as is standard archival practice.
It is also standard not to make available original or digital copies of archives that are less than 20 years old (based on the 20-year rule used for UK government records). The university will comply with this practice if applicable to archive material in its care, but may make exceptions to this if it is felt that IPR, data protection or other rights will not be breached; or permission has been given by the rights holder.
Even with these safeguards in place, we recognize that material we publish online may lead to an unintentional infringement of rights.
Reasons for take down can include:
If you think this is the case, please contact the university. You can get in touch by e-mail (firstname.lastname@example.org); by telephone (024 7765 7882); or by writing to The Archivist, Coventry University Library, Frederick Lanchester building, Gosford Street, Coventry, CV1 5DD. An online form to make a take down request will be available soon.
Whatever method is used you should include any relevant evidence. This could include information such as:
All requests will usually be processed within 10 working days.
Material will be taken down temporarily if a take down request is received (while the request is considered and in compliance with the Electronic Commerce Regulations 2002, clauses 17-19). The case will be considered by the Archivist, assisted by other members of staff if required.
If the take down request concerns a factual error the error will be edited. Other requests will be considered on their merits.
The procedure for dealing with a takedown request is as follows:
Should you disagree with a take down decision you should appeal to the Library Director within 10 working days of receiving the decision, and include evidence where relevant. All appeal requests will be processed within 10 working days wherever possible. The Library Director may consult the university’s Information Protection Unit.