LibGuides: Economics, Finance &amp; Accounting (EFA): Company information

Useful subject databases

Company Information

Company information can be found from a number of sources.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry profiles, company profiles and market reports. These cover global industries including non-consumer areas such as oil and gas.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company profiles from Hoovers.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains industry and market research reports and company profiles. These cover global industries including non-consumer areas such as oil and gas.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) This link opens in a new window
FAME contains financial data taken from a company's annual report, e,g. turnover, balance sheet, profit & loss account. It can also be used to create lists of companies that satisfy certain criteria, e.g. industry sector and location. FAME contains data relating to UK and Irish larger companies
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld contains market research reports and industry ratings from UK and China. It also has industry COVID-19 impact statements. This database covers a wide variety of industry sectors including, construction, energy, manufacturing, finance, wholesale and retail.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
A database of marketing research reports produced by Mintel. Included within the reports are profiles of companies that produce consumer goods. The focus is on the UK market, but there are also some reports relating to China.
Passport Euromonitor (GMID) This link opens in a new window
Contains market research information including profiles of companies and has global coverage.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics worldwide.

Companies House
Legal entity where all UK public and private companies have to file their accounts. Reports can be ordered where information is not available on FAME or on a company's website. Be aware that limited companies are not obliged to provide extensive information unlike a public company.

Newspapers and other news outlets can be a good source of information about companies. You can find news on the sources below.

Lexis+ (UK Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains news content from UK newspapers including national, regional, broadsheets and tabloids.

Financial Times
The Financial Times (FT) is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy.

The first time you login, you will be required to setup an individual account with the FT. Please use your Coventry University email address and choose a unique password. All subsequent logins to the database will require only your Coventry University username and password.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals and some newspapers, which provide information about companies.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Included in this database are wire feeds, newspapers and trade publications, which are a good source of company information.

Economics, Finance & Accounting (EFA): Company information

Useful subject databases

Quick Links