Finding resources: Subject specific databases

Research databases host an extensive range of academic content including book references, journal articles and conference proceedings. Subject specific databases provide access to financial, market, legal information etc.

You have access to external databases through Locate, the Library catalogue.

Use your Subject Guides to identify relevant databases for your subject area and contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for further guidance.

Research databases bring together published content that is invaluable to academic research ranging from journal articles and book references to newspaper articles and market research.

Databases provide access to:

• Multidisciplinary subject areas - Proquest, ScienceDirect etc.
• Specialist subject areas - Westlaw, FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) etc.

Each database will have a particular style, but all have collated content in uniform records to facilitate searching. Records will usually include the title, author(s), abstract (summary) and, most importantly standardised, keywords.

You will sometimes have access to the full text and sometimes only find the citation (bibliographic details and abstract). Some databases can be combination of both full-text and citation.

If you know the specific title of a database, use the search bar function on the home screen of Locate and select the databases icon. This will retrieve a direct link to the named database.

Your Subject Guide includes a comprehensive overview of all databases relevant to your area. Select the Subject Guides option from the top panel on Locate and find your subject area from the relevant College List. Click on the arrows (highlighted in red) to view the full list of subjects in each College.

From your subject guide, click on the Subject Databases link to view the subject specific databases available to you.