Partner Students: Open Access Resources

Unpaywall retrieves Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and research repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use freely available research.

It’s a tool – a browser plugin – that will indicate if an Open Access version of an academic journal article, conference paper or book chapter is available when you’ve landed on a web page which is requesting a login and you're being asked to pay to view the item.

For example, instead of looking at a journal article on the publisher's website, it could alternatively be available in a university digital research repository as the final pre-print copy that was sent for publication.

Explore art collections of the world via this central hub on Google.

(pronounced "archive") A site owned by Cornell University, containing papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, statistics, electrical engineering, systems science and economics.

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

A public search engine and digital library for scientific and academic papers, primarily in the fields of computer and information science.

Systematic Reviews and Clinical Trials, some are fully open access and others are abstracts only.

CORE’s mission is to seek out all open access research from research repositories (universities and elsewhere) and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access, provided that these publications meet academic standards. Peer reviewed means that subject experts (normally academics and researchers) review a work for quality and accuracy before it's published.

12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

JURN is a multidisciplinary index for open access articles. It's unique strength is coverage of open access arts and humanities journals, something which has been highly curated and refined over a period of many years.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

Sabinet’s African Journals database is a collection of southern African and African journal titles across a range of disciplines.

South Africa’s premier open-access searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. The database covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals.