Coventry University Archives: News

A visit to the (car) doctor

The Lanchester archive collection is intrinsically linked to the history of the university more than any other. As a pioneer of engineering design and other innovations, Frederick Lanchester’s name has been used on the university’s predecessor institutions, from colleges to the polytechnic, its libraries ((including the current library building) and an art gallery.

The collection began with the donation of items by Frederick’s widow Dorothea and his brother George. They were both present at the official opening of the Lanchester College of Technology building in 1961 (now known as the George Eliot building), which at that time also housed the college library.

Over the years the collection relating to Lanchester’s life and work has grown to become what is currently the largest Lanchester collection in the world. This has been supported over the years by various librarians and teams, but one person has led this evolution and has contributed more than any other to what we have today and our knowledge of the man and his innovations. Dr Chris Clark has guided, developed, added to and championed the archive since the 1980s.

He has written or inspired the four extensive volumes of The Lanchester Legacy, plus countless articles about Lanchester’s life and his contribution to the world of engineering, flight, automotive industries and many more areas of innovation design.

Chris is the leading expert and historian on all things Lanchester, and his own story is very significant for how the archives and other Lanchester resources have been accumulated, and subsequently used as a resource by students, researchers, and the general public. Anthony Hughes, Head of Archives & Special Collections, recognising that we wouldn’t have this important collection without Chris’ generous support and knowledge, felt it appropriate that he was interviewed about his association with Lanchester and the University. This will hopefully form a valuable addition to the collections for both student study, research and wider engagement currently offered.

Anthony, along with Gary Collins, the University Archivist; and Paul Nolan, Partnerships and Outreach Coordinator, took a full video and audio production set to his house in Gloucestershire where he has recently scaled down the number of rare cars to a mere five Lanchesters! These span a huge evolution of automotive design from a 1904 model to a mid-1950s sporty number he drives regularly. Two of the cars in his collection are shown here - an Edwardian era Lanchester, plus another one that includes wooden hand-built bodywork of the type usually seen on boats. It was this car that featured in a TV programme with the actor David Jason being taken for a ride in the boot seat!

The visit was a great opportunity to create an informal conversational recording and video, and a chance for Anthony to revisit his days of running a video and media company. Paul used his radio acting voice to lead on the questions and tease out many stories, and Gary accepted a donation of files created by Chris during his Lanchester research and covering the life and work of Frederick Lanchester and other Lanchester family members; The Lanchester Legacy; and Chris' work as the official historian of the Daimler & Lanchester Owners' Club Lanchester Register. The files will be added to the Lanchester collection as a distinct Chris Clark sub-collection.

The material includes files on specific subjects which contain a mixture of photocopies, correspondence, publications cuttings, photographs (copy prints and originals), typed & handwritten notes, original publications and documents and copies. 

Also included is a photo album relating to Sir Bernard Docker and the Birmingham Small Arms (BSA) company, which owned the Daimler Motor Company and subsequently the Lanchester Motor Company. The album had been rescued from a skip by one of Chris’ relatives! 

The files were kept in three large cardboard boxes, which have been replaced with proper archive-friendly wallet files and boxes.

The new wealth of audio and video recorded archive material will hopefully be edited in early 2025 to form an engaging story of the world expert on Frederick Lanchester, to accompany the world’s largest collection of Lanchester’s work; and the Archives & Special Collections team plans to make a return visit to see what progress Chris has made with his cars and collect more files.