Subjects: Nursing
Finding Resources for Nursing
The following library databases and resources will help you find information on nursing and other allied health professions. To learn how to use them effectively, you can watch the video that follows.
Useful Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Thousands of academic journal articles for a wide range of subjects, including business strategies and concepts.
- AMED Allied and complementary medicine databases This link opens in a new window Produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library, AMED is a specialized bibliographic database designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
- Medline This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window The Nursing & Allied Health Database has a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
- Pubmed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window Box of Broadcasts is a on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an extensive archive.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED), and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups: About The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Also available as an app. Includes structures from all body systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Journals, books and case studies - a library of real world research at your fingertips
- EThOS (British Library Theses) This link opens in a new window Based at the British Library, EThOS allows you to view records for all theses (PhD & Masters level) produced at UK HE institutions and many of these are now available to download online. You need to register first to do this and it is free of charge.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses: UK and Ireland This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete (ASC), designed specifically for academic institutions, is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window It covers a wide range of topics including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycInfo remains one of the most current resources available for exploring and locating behavioural and social science research.
- Guidelines for Nurses Bringing together guidelines relevant to nursing practice in one place
To gain access to the guideline summaries, expert articles and other educational resources you need to register
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- Guy's and St Thomas' hospital library service Library service open to staff of the Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust.
- Kings Fund Library The King's Fund provides a unique and free source of information on health and social care policy and management.
- RCN Library The largest nursing library in Europe, open to RCN members
Database Guides
Database Searching Tips
Library and Learning Innovation
Coventry University Vauxhall
The Hudson
350 Kennington Lane
London, United Kingdom
SE11 5HY
Telephone:+442038 145633
Email: libanswers.culc@coventry.ac.uk
Coventry University Vauxhall
The Hudson
350 Kennington Lane
London, United Kingdom
SE11 5HY
Telephone:+442038 145633
Email: libanswers.culc@coventry.ac.uk
