RSP - OA

Core.ac.uk - Core is an aggregated repository, pulling in content from institutional repositories around the world, with over 10,000 repositories and journals providing data. The system also supports searching by 'keywords' if there isn't a specific publication you are looking for but want to see what literature on a subject is openly accessible.

Unpaywall (plugin) - Unpaywall is a Chrome / Firefox extension which indicates whether there is an open access version of a publication available. When you visit an article on a publisher's platform, the Unpaywall icon which will display on the right hand side of your browser will turn green if it detects access is covered by a subscription or if there is an open access version available somewhere. Clicking the icon will then link  to the available version it has found. You can also turn on 'OA Nerd Mode' which will display whether the available version is 'Gold', 'Green', or 'Bronze' Open Access. 

Open Access Button - Open Access Button works by the title, weblink or citation of an article being entered into its search function. It will then scour online repository systems to see if there is an open access version available somewhere and link you through to it. If an article is not available open access a request can be initiated of the author through the website. Open Access Button also offers a browser extension option for Chrome and Firefox.

EThOS - A service operated by the British Library, EThOS is the go to place to check for Doctoral level theses produced within UK Universities. Many theses are electronically available to download from EThOS (a free to set up EThOS account will be required), older theses can have a digitisation request made on them through the EThOS system.  Please note that some Universities cover the costs associated with having a digitisation produced, others pass on the cost to the individual making the request.

Many Universities will also host electronic theses on their own repository systems. Content not indexed by EThOS, such as Masters Research theses, may be available here. A useful place to search for institutional repository systems is the ROAR registry.

PubMed Central - A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature overseen by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Predominantly indexes fully Open Access articles, but also includes deposition of some accepted manuscripts where the final publication is behind a subscription access paywall. PubMed Central is associated with PubMed, a major database of citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.

ArXiv Pre-Print Servers - In some academic disciplines it is commonplace for 'pre print' versions to be hosted on subject repositories. ArXiv is one of the biggest and most long standing of these platforms, hosting pre-prints from Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and associated disciplines. BioRxiv hosts pre-prints from the Biosciences, and several other subject repositories are hosted via the Open Science Foundation, among them PsyArXiv which hosts Psychology pre-prints and PaleorXiv for Paleontology. 

Do be mindful that content found on repositories such as these won't generally have been through a formal peer review process, and that some pre-print systems apply more stringent criteria as to the content they host than others.

Funder Specific Open Research Platforms - The range of research funders who have set up their own Open Research platforms to disseminate research which they have funded has grown significantly in recent years. Below are some examples of such platforms; they will typically make available pre-peer reviewed material which then goes through an open peer review process on the Research Platform.

• NIHR Open Research

• Wellcome Open Research

• Gates Open Research

Other Pre-Print Servers - If your research does not fall into one of the above subject areas, or is not funded by one of the above funders, there are still pre-print repositories where you can share and find work related to your research. The Directory of Open Access Preprint Repositories collates different pre-print repositories that you can search through either by subject area or the function of the repositories. There are also repositories that are not subject specific like the Open Science Foundation repository, which is particularly useful for interdisciplinary research or work in disciplines where this kind of open practice is still growing.

UK Reproducibility Network - The UK Reproducibility Network (UKRN) is a peer-led consortium which promotes research reproducibility in the UK and which aims to make sure that the UK remains a centre for world-leading research. On the Network's YouTube channel are archived recordings of past seminars on a range of topics relevant to Open Research. The Network also advertise their upcoming events through their website.

ReproducibiliTea - ReproducibiliTea is a community building initiative designed in particular to bring together Post-Graduate Researchers or Early Career Researchers in local University networks. The initiative started at the University of Oxford, and is supported by the UK Reproducibility Network.

RIOT Science Club - Originating from King's College, London, the RIOT Science Club runs events aimed at increasing awareness of Open Research practices. There is a YouTube channel dedicated to making available recordings of their past events. The aim of the group is to 'create a levelling space where junior and senior academics alike can all mutually benefit from the exchange of ideas that move us away from the publish or perish culture, that stymie the replication crises, and that put researchers on the map in the Open Research revolution!'

Open Science Course - TU Delft - The Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) in the Netherlands has published this online MOOC which is currently available to access in an archived form. The course is primarily aimed at researchers wishing to know more about the core tenets of Open Research practice and features four modules which cover such topics as Research Data Management and compliance with the FAIR principles, Open Access to research outputs and Research Visibility. Participation on the course is free, though there are also paid options.

EU-Citizen.Science Initiative - Citizen Science, the practice of involving public participation in the scientific research process, has been growing in scope and popularity. The EU Citizen Science platform, supported by the EU's Horizon 2020 programme, contains a range of resources to training materials related to Citizen Science and aims to promote best practice in this area. There are various online MOOC courses available, covering topics ranging from research 'storytelling', to research ethics. The platform also aims to raise awareness of Citizen Science and acts as a central hub for promoting events taking place throughout Europe.

The Turing Way - The Turing Way is a community driven project to develop open-source guidance in relation to producing reproducible scientific data. The project relies on community contributions, similar to the collaborative principles behind Wikipedia. The Project was initiated by the Alan Turing Institute, which is supported by a range of leading UK Research Universities and the EPSRC. A handbook produced through the Project is available through the Zenodo repository.

Open Science Research Handbook - An outcome of the FOSTER Open Science Project, the Open Science Research Handbook was devised in 2018 as an 'open, living handbook'. The work provides chapters introducing different aspects of Open Research practice. As it is designed to be a living and evolving document, readers can suggest changes and improvements to the Handbook.

ORION Open Science Factsheets - Brief, informative, and easy-to understand one-page factsheets on Open Science topics.

LIBER (Association of European Research Libraries) - LIBER has produced a visualisation of what they see as core Open Science Skills, incorporating the five components: Scholarly Publishing, FAIR Data, Research Integrity, Citizen Science and Metrics and Rewards.  The diagram, licensed under a CC BY licence, is available from Zenodo.

Open Science Framework - The Open Science Framework (OSF) is overseen by the Center for Open Science, a non-profit organisation which has become a leading body in the Open Research movement. The platform offers a number of functions:

• a dashboard-based project management functionality, with access controls, version control features, and project analytics;

• a central document store for collaborative sharing;

• integrations with a number of cloud storage services. Additionally the platform integrates with GitHub for code management, with figshare and Dataverse for data repositories, and with Mendeley for reference management;

• a pre-registration function for publishing time-stamped study designs;

• a preprint server for rapid communication of results.

The work of the Open Science Framework first came to widespread attention in 2015 following the publication of a project exploring reproducibility in Psychological Science research. The OSF also provides a searchable indexing service for Preprint servers across a diverse range of academic disciplines.

Science Octopus - The development of the Octopus platform has been financially supported by Research England with the platform intending to help bring about a change in research culture. Octopus breaks scientific research into eight elements which can be sequentially linked together within the platform. By breaking research up into component parts the intention is that it will be easier for researchers to publicly highlight research which is in progress and to elicit collaboration with other researchers. 

ScienceOpen - A platform for discovering, promoting and developing research. ScienceOpen allows researchers to search and discover relevant research in over 87 million Open Access articles and article records. Authors can also publish preprints, where they can track usage, citations and impact. These articles can then be subject to open public review, allowing authors to develop their work and researchers to be credited for sharing their expertise.

Open Lab Notebooks - An initiative for scientific researchers to share their research in more or less 'real time' by providing online access to their online notebooks. Research groups based in Canada, the UK and USA are all currently active on the platform.

Research Equals - A new platform which provides a similar function to the Octopus platform. The main differences are that Research Equals allows researchers to link any steps in the research process together (Octopus follows a sequential order) and allows for a wider variety of 'steps' with a focus on research provenance. Research Equals operates on a 'pay to close' model, meaning that if researchers wish to restrict access to any components a charge is payable.