Research & Scholarly Publications Team: Pure Repository

Depositing outputs in Pure

Creating the Record

Go to https://pure.coventry.ac.uk and log in with your University username and password.

Hover over 'Research output' on the left hand side of your screen, then click on '+'. This should launch a new window to deposit your output.

There are three ways to add research outputs to Pure - 

• create a record in Pure manually
• import via an online source
• or import from an existing file (e.g. BibTex)

Create research output manually

1. Click on 'create from template' and choose the most relevant item type.
2. Complete as much detail on the record as possible.
   NOTE: It is important that we have all the relevant dates (particularly 'acceptance date' and 'pubilshed/online date'), therefore be sure to add to the publication statuses rather than overriding previous ones.

Import via an online Source

1. Click ‘import from online source’ and choose the database you wish to import from. Then complete search details to locate outputs. Each database had different criteria which you can search by. This is not instant, especially if there are a large number of results, please wait for the list to generate. Note: Scopus search doesn’t currently work with full names, please use Initial and surname, or ORCID.

2. Select ‘Import’ on records you wish to add to your Pure profile. Note: you have to do this for each record individually to ensure data quality. Choose ‘Import and Review’ to check details and continue editing the record.

Import from an existing file

This option will allow you to upload outputs from bibliographic software such as EndNote and Reference Manager (RIS files) or as a BibTeX file, for example from Google Scholar or ORCID.

1. Click ‘import from file’ and choose which format you wish to upload.
2. Either upload the file or paste the code

Editing the Record

3. Include all the publication dates associated with the output, particularly the acceptance date (as this is used for checking REF compliance) and the online/publication date (as this is used to set any associated embargo dates). As the output goes through the publication process, please add dates rather than changing / editing existing information.
4. Review and check internal authors and affiliations are correctly identified. In the Authors and affiliations section ‘+’ allows you to add an author, ‘edit’ allows you to replace an author or correct details (internal authors also give an option to change person), ‘-’ will delete an author. Please set the ‘managing organisational unit’ to the first author (if internal) or to yourself if the first author is external.
5. Add links and files. Under electronic versions, please add a DOI where this is available. Add full texts (you can add other types here for example photographs if your output is nonstandard) please select the correct version of your document and indicate public access to the file based on publisher policy. Click create. 

For journal articles and conference proceedings please ensure you have added the full text to Pure within 3 months of acceptance. You can add an email with evidence of acceptance date under ‘add other file’ please set the public access for this to ‘closed’.

6. Create relations between your output and other content types, for example, the conference event a paper was presented at or the project the output is a result of. Select the content type and search. these will need to have already been entered in Pure, please see other user guides on SharePoint).
7. Indicate whether you want this record to be visible to the public (note this applies to the metadata and will not make files visible which you have restricted).
8. Once you are happy with the record set the status to ‘For validation’. If you are still editing and do not want this to be validated yet select ‘Entry in Progress’.
9. Remember to save. Pressing close without saving will lose your work.

NOTE: Once a record is set ‘For validation’ it will be checked by the library to ensure details are accurate and we are complying with publisher policies before they are made available on the public portal. If there are issues with the output which need correcting you will be notified via Pure. 

More Detailed Guides:

The following tutorial demonstrates how to add an item manually.

http://libinfo.coventry.ac.uk/Captivate/rspt/tutorials/PURE/index.html

The Research Excellence Unit (REU) guide to depositing outputs in Pure is available below.  This provides full details of how to import from a file and an online source, as well as manually creating a record in Pure.

For further guidance the FAQ page of the Pure Support page (Coventry University login required) is a recommended source of information. For any general Pure queries you can contact: enquiries.pure@coventry.ac.uk. 

After depositing in Pure

What happens after I create a record on Pure?

Provided a record is set to status ‘for validation’ (this shows at the bottom of the record) this will enter the work queue of the Research and Scholarly Publications team. The record will be checked to ensure that deposit in Pure is in line with your publishers policy; the full text version and the information regarding the output is correct, before it is made available from the Pure portal.

Depending on your publishers' policy, the full text version that you upload to Pure may be subject to an embargo period.  This means the full text cannot be made available until after the embargo period has ended.  The RSP Team will check if an embargo period applies to your output and will set the date within the system so that the full text will be made available automatically once the embargo period has ended.  If you have any queries regarding this, please contact oa.lib@coventry.ac.uk.

Updating the record of your output

After you've made a record of your publication in Pure, you may wish to update the record, for instance once the article has been published. Whilst we monitor records and receive some updates from Scopus, it is useful for author to keep us updated about their publications such that their profiles are kept up to date and nothing gets missed. Simply email us at oa.lib@coventry.ac.uk and we will be able to help you update your record.

ORCiD

ORCiD is a free service providing a persistent identifier allowing authors to bring together all of their research outputs and avoiding the confusion which can arise around authors with similar names being considered one and the same person, and the opposite problem of outputs by the same person being split among different name variants. 

Having an ORCiD ID can also help with Scopus and Pure interoperability and will assist with research funding applications, as an increasing number of research funders require an ORCiD ID as part of their application criteria.

Getting set up

Registering for an ORCiD account is free and straight forward to do. When setting up an ORCiD ID you have the option of whether the information connected with your ORCiD ID displays publicly or not. The ID itself will then consist of a randomly generated 16 digit number which is unique to your account. 

Once set up you will be able to link your ORCiD ID to your Scopus ID and LinkedIn profile. Linking to your Scopus ID is particularly beneficial as it will help address any author mismatching on the Scopus system.

Adding publications to an ORCiD ID

There are four main ways to update an ORCiD record with the details of past publications (or 'works' as they are known in ORCiD):

1. To directly import records from other systems, including Scopus and Pure
2. Add works using an identifier such as a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
3. Using a Bibtex file
4. By adding works manually

For forthcoming and future publications, many publishers support the automatic import of publication information from their system to ORCiD provided the author's ORCiD ID is provided when submitting for publication. 

Linking ORCiD and PURE

To link up your ORCiD ID to Pure, login to Pure and click on your name / login ID which will display toward the top left of screen. Then click 'edit person profile' which should bring up an option inviting you to 'create or connect' to your ORCiD ID.

Once the link is set up subsequent records created in Pure will migrate over to your ORCiD profile provided they relate to published content, have been validated and are set to 'public visibility'. The exporting of this data typically happens overnight. Your ORCiD ID will also display on your public facing Pure Portal person profile.

For past publications, ORCiD can be used as an import source. To utilise this select 'Import from online source', where ORCiD is offered as an option. The publications linked to the ORCiD ID will then display and you can import individual records to the Pure system from here. Most of the mandatory information fields should already be populated using the ORCiD data. Once the link is established you will be prompted for any new publications to import when you log into Pure which are detected via your ORCiD, unless this function is turned off.

(Please note however that as we are encouraging records to get added to Pure at the point of acceptance that we would typically expect to see a record on Pure before it appears on ORCiD following publication.) 

Linking ORCiD and Scopus

Records in Scopus can be migrated to ORCiD, however records in ORCiD cannot be migrated to Scopus. This is because Scopus have restrictions around what they index on their system, so not all publications will be eligible for inclusion in Scopus. 

To sync up ORCiD and Scopus first log into Scopus, using your Coventry University credentials via Open Athens or through Locate where it's recorded as a database. Once you have found your author Scopus profile, you will see the option 'connect to ORCID'. By selecting this you will by invited to login to your ORCiD account. Once you have associated your ORCiD ID with your Scopus account you will then be able to import records from Scopus into ORCiD if any publications are missing.   

De-duplicating multiple Scopus IDs

Scopus author IDs get automatically created when Scopus indexes a publication. While Scopus does attempt to match authors across different publications, mismatches are still fairly common. Mismatches usually occur because an author publishes under variations of their name (e.g. John Smith, J Smith, J.W. Smith etc.), if they move institution, or if they change their name. 

Preventing future mismatches can be achieved by signing up for an ORCiD ID and linking it to Scopus (see above). To deal with existing duplicate Scopus IDs the simplest way to do this is by using the author feedback wizard which sits below your author profile in Scopus. From here you will then be able to suggest that author profiles be merged if your publications are spread out over multiple author profiles in Scopus. Corrections can take a few days to a few weeks to take effect depending on the change required.

If you have any difficulties please contact us at: oa.lib@coventry.ac.uk as we can act on your behalf if we know what the issues are.

For more information please see the advice given by Scopus on updating an author profile.

ISBNs

Coventry University can allocate ISBNs (international Standard Book Numbers) to any book published by the University.  Any book published by the University for sale, must have an ISBN included at the printing stage. This ensures book orders can be routed to the correct supplier and the unique title can be supplied.

To obtain an ISBN for your publication, please email publications@coventry.ac.uk. You will need to provide the titles and contact name and number of the author.  You will be sent a form to complete and once completed, an ISBN will be allocated Details of the publications will be input to Nielsen Books online service if the book is published for sale. You may need to wait until the publication is finalised before the form can be completed as physical size, pagination, price and other details are required.

A copy of the form will be kept by the RSP Team as a permanent record so that any orders can be directed to the correct supply source. If you sell all stock or the price of your publication, please notify the RSP Team using the above email address.

Publishers in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland have a legal obligation to send a copy to the Legal Deposit Office of the British Library within one month of publication., as well as to provide a copy for 5 other legal deposit libraries in the UK and Ireland.  Please forward six copies of your publication to the RSP Office as soon as possible after publication and we will send them to the Legal Deposit Office on your behalf. 

If you would like a copy to be added to the University library, please provide an additional copy for this purpose.

If your book is only available as an e-publication you may want to allocate a DOI to the publication as well to aid visibility and access to your work.  Please contact the RSP Team using the email above to discuss this.

ISSNs

Publications of a periodical nature are given an ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) by completing an online form available from https://www.bl.uk/collection-metadata/application-for-an-issn. For further information regarding ISSNs see - http://www.bl.uk/issn or contact the British Library: - Tel: +44 (0) 1937 546959, Email: issn-uk@bl.uk 

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I know what a journal’s policy is toward open access?

A useful source of reference is the website Sherpa / Romeo which documents the policies of many academic journals. If the publication does not appear on Sherpa / Romeo it would be worth checking with the journal editor and examining the detail of any copyright transfer agreement (CTA) which you may have been asked to sign.

Articles published in some non-open access journals may be eligible to be published 'Gold Open Access' at no additional cost via one of the publisher Open Access agreements which we have in place, where a Coventry University author is acting as the corresponding author. For more information on such agreements please see this section of our LibGuide. 

Sherpa/Romeo also operates the sister sites, Sherpa/Juliet which details funder open access policies, and Sherpa/Fact which checks the compatibility of particular journal titles with funder policies.

If you are publishing in a journal which either requires an embargo which exceeds the maximum permitted for REF (over 12 months for REF Panels A and B, over 24 months for REF Panels C and D), or in a journal which doesn’t permit dissemination of the accepted manuscript, you will still need to upload the accepted manuscript to Pure within 90 days of its acceptance. There is provision in the REF policy for an exception applying if the publication can be shown to be the most appropriate publication venue for the research.

When are embargo dates calculated from?

The REF Open Access policy advises that they be set from date of first publication. This is often classified as the ‘e-pub ahead of print’ date where electronic release of the article comes before the print publication.

How will embargo dates be set if the article is not yet published?

The RSP team in the library will implement a provisional embargo on the day they check and validate the record, and have a system for periodically checking back on records to see when publication occurs..

However, if authors can remember to update Pure records following publication to add such details as publication date and DOI / weblinks to the final publication this is helpful as it will lead to the record getting checked sooner and the final embargo date being correctly set.

In what circumstances should I change the visibility settings of a Pure record?

We suggest the default visibility setting of a Pure record should be set to ‘public’. There may be grounds however to restrict the visibility of the record where one of the following scenarios apply:

• A press embargo has been requested by the publication
• A publication is at the stage of being submitted for publication or is being prepared for publication
• The record details a confidential report or similar whose details are not to be publicly disclosed
• The output meets the REF's definition of posing a security risk to the author(s) - please note in such circumstances it would be expected that the author(s) would not disclose their organisational affiliation(s) on the publication

Please note that the visibility of the record operates separately to the visibility of any documents attached to the record. It is possible for the overall Pure record to be set to ‘public’ even where the attached document is under an embargo.

In cases where the restricted visibility of a newly created record may impact upon its compliance with the REF Open Access policy, a member of our team will get in touch to query this.

At what point will a record display against my profile in the Pure Portal?

Records will display on the Pure Portal once they have been validated, provided the visibility of the record is set to ‘public’ (which is the default setting). Records are validated by the Research and Scholarly Publications team in the library, generally a few working days after a record has initially been created.

Please note that when changes are made to a record which has been validated this will trigger the record going into ‘re-validation’ for a member of the Research and Scholarly Publications team to check the information which has been added is accurate. During this period the record will for a brief time not display on the Portal.

Can I link video or multimedia material to a record in Pure?

Currently the Pure Portal can only display videos from YouTube or Vimeo on output records where the video does not have any privacy settings. To add a video use the ‘add other link’ option on the research output and paste in the shareable link to the video and choose portal multimedia from the link type dropdown.

Can I freely share my work through Research Gate and similar platforms?

Before uploading any version of a publication to an academic social network site such as Research Gate, we would advise authors to check any Copyright Transfer Agreement which may have been signed with the publisher. While the posting of publications on academic social networking sites remains fairly widespread, authors do risk infringing publisher copyright if they do so in violation of the terms of a Copyright Transfer Agreement and there have been cases of publishers issuing copyright takedown notices to authors as a consequence. A notable instance of takedown notices being sent to ResearchGate occurred in October 2021, when over 200,000 files were requested to be removed.

Various publishers have set up a website called How Can I Share It? which details journal policies toward academic social networking sites, in addition to other types of platform.

Please note as well that academic social networking sites such as Research Gate are not repositories which meet the Open Access requirements for research funders or for any Research Assessment Exercise, such as the REF. In order to comply with this policy, please archive the accepted manuscript of any journal and conference proceeding publications to the Pure system within three months of their acceptance for publication. 

Can I share the accepted manuscript / the published version of my paper with colleagues?

To ensure you are not violating any agreement which you might have signed with the publisher, we would advocate checking the terms of any Copyright Transfer Agreement (CTA) which you have signed up to

Most publishers permit private sharing with colleagues and peers, but the form that this takes can vary. Some publishers for instance provide a 'toll-free' link to an off-print of the published version which can be shared by the author a finite number of times to researchers who may not have access to the final publication through the journal platform.

How do I cite data from digital repositories (online open archives), data centres, and public sources?

There is no consensus on format and components for citations of electronic data and rmerging conventions vary by discipline, but there are some common elements within these conventions. The How to Cite Data page by The Michigan State University Libraries provides helpful guidelines for multiple citation styles, including a tab that leads to guidance for citing data from statistical tables. The guidelines for social science data​ provided by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) may give you a good general sense of what you will need to include in most data citations.

Many online repositories or data centres provide guidelines on how to cite the data that they maintain and provide. These vary dramatically in detail and visibility. For example, census.ac.uk, which provides specific types of data sets, often repeating over time, provides thorough guidelines on citing each electronic release of census data and related studies. The UK Data Archive, which houses a wider variety of data sets, includes general data citation advice in an FAQ (How do I acknowledge and cite data?), and includes the specific citation information for each data set when you download it. If you can't find it, you should always feel free to email or call the staff who run the site for advice on citing their data (or any other sort of material in the repository).

If you have a question which is not covered here, please contact us at: oa.lib@coventry.ac.uk.